Ampfing: Aron and Janker Top Qualifying Practice

Kartbahn Ampfing, host of the third round of the 2018 FIA Karting European Championship and Junior Championship. Photo: KSP Photo Agency

With 155 Drivers at Ampfing, the third Competition of the CIK-FIA European Championship and the CIK-FIA European Junior Championship boasts a very interesting field. The weather was particularly good in the South of Bavaria for first day, Friday, 15th June, devoted to Free Practice and Qualifying Practice for the two categories of direct-drive karts. Paul Aron dominated in Junior while Hannes Janker prevailed by a wide margin in OK.

The favourable weather prevailing at Ampfing since Thursday morning enabled the smooth running of the preparatory phases of the German Kart Grand Prix. Participants who did not know the Bavarian track had every opportunity to get acquainted with the twisty and technical 1067m circuit. The crucial chicane has been the focus of the Drivers as well as the officials who put in place a simple procedure to ensure that the competitors respect the track limits.

In the three Free Practice sessions, Paul Aron (EST) was often the fastest OK-Junior Driver, all equipped with Vega tyres, before concluding with the fastest time of 42''796, more than a tenth faster than opponents Luca Griggs (GBR), Zak O'Sullivan (GBR), Kai Askey (GBR) and Laurens Van Hoepen (NLD). Dilano Van T'Hoff (NLD) and Thomas Ten Brinke (NLD) also came to the fore while provisional leader Gabriele Mini' (ITA) kept pace at a short distance.

In OK, equipped with Bridgestone tyres, Harry Thompson (GBR), Zane Maloney (BRB), Lorenzo Travisanutto (ITA), with the fastest time of 41''559, and Hannes Janker (DEU) monopolised the attention during Free Practice, along with Axel Saarniala (FIN), Hugo Sasse (DEU) and Nicklas Nielsen (DNK). At that moment, the leader of the provisional classification Pedro Hiltbrand (ESP) was hardly impressive, nor was the 3rd, Roman Stanek (CZE) or the 4th, David Vidales Ajenjo (ESP).


Although the first two timed sessions seemed faster than the third, Paul Aron's feat deserves to be applauded. The Estonian posted a time of 43''204 in the first session, leaving his direct pursuer Kai Askey by almost two tenths of a second. Zak O'Sullivan, leader of the second group, set the 3rd best time, but as expected received a penalty of 10 places for a foul committed during the first Competition of the season at Sarno. Nikita Bedrin (RUS) was 3rd in front of Luca Griggs. Gabriele Mini' was 5th, Gabriel Bortoleto (BRA) 7th, Victor Bernier (FRA) 18th and Dilano Van T'Hoff 21st.


Hannes Janker posted the best time in the category - 41''775 - in the second session, outdistancing his closest opponent Mattia Michelotto (ITA) by 0.280''. Both in the third session, Lorenzo Travisanutto and Harry Thompson finished 2nd and 3rd, followed by two Drivers in the first session, Juho Valtanen and Danny Keirle. Roman Stanek was 11th, David Vidales Ajenjo 31st and Pedro Hiltbrand 33rd.